Meet The Member – Tim Bolderson

Author Tim Bolderson

Name and where you live

Hi. My name is Tim Bolderston and I live in Caversham, which is the bit of Reading that is north of the Thames.

What is/was your day job?

I am now retired, having taken retirement a few years early thanks to one of Hewlett Packard’s redundancy programmes.  I have worked on computers all my life, starting in the University of Kent at Canterbury and ending in Thames Valley Park in Reading.  My last role was as a database designer.  I am currently keeping busy as your Section Treasurer.

How long have you been riding?

I passed my test about 50 years ago when I already had a car licence.  I originally thought about getting a car, but rather unexpectedly ran into opposition from my father who declared there was nowhere to park it. After talking to fellow students I thought I might get away with a motorbike and bought a bike instead,

What was your first bike?

My first bike was a Francis-Barnett 150 two-stroke which I bought second-hand ‘assisted’ by my father. We drove over to negotiate the purchase, but then I discovered he wanted me to ride it home straight away in the dusk, rather than arrange delivery.  This was without any experience of riding a motorcycle and without any protective gear, not even a helmet.  Somehow I managed to combine the techniques of riding a bicycle with those of driving a car and made it home without incident.  The bike turned out to have a strange fault which made it misfire badly and which after a lot of investigation was found to be a faulty magneto coil.  It was never that wonderful to ride anyway and I soon changed it for an AJS 350 single.

Tell us about your current bike

I have two bikes. The first is a K100RT that I bought new in 1987 and which I feel I should replace, but can’t find anything better.  The other bike is an R1200GS which I bought ex-demo and is still going strong.  This is the bike I use for all the various club trips and tours because it is very versatile, carries a lot of luggage and is comfortable for my pillion, Jill.

Can you share a favourite route that you’ve ridden or a memorable trip you’ve made?

The most ambitious trip has been the trip to Classical Greece a few years ago.  We managed to get Autorail-style services from Holland to Italy and back to Germany.  Riding the bike onto the train was quite an experience in itself, having to keep your head down below the steel deck above and negotiate another uneven steel deck below.

For you, what’s the best thing about being a motorcyclist?

For me, I think it’s the sensation of controlling a powerful machine and being in contact with your surroundings.

And are there any downsides?

I didn’t enjoy the trip back from Scotland in very strong gusty crosswinds on the GS.  Riding in those conditions was hard work and I felt thoroughly battered when we finally stopped.

If money and/or time weren’t an issue, what would be your ideal trip or what would be your perfect bike?

The GS is pretty good especially after I had the Wilbers lowered suspension.  If I had to replace it I would probably go for the latest R1250GS LC.

Apart from motorcycling, what are your other interests?

I discovered the joys of skiing rather late in life, shortly after my 40th birthday.  Ever since, I have been making up for lost opportunities by spending as much time as possible sliding down mountains.  Favourite resorts are in the Alps: Zermatt, Val d’Isère, Les Arcs (Paradiski), Serre Chevalier and Alpe d’Huez.  If the weather is favourable we also like to try out lower resorts like Châtel in the Portes du Soleil and Le Grand-Bornand.

Originally posted 2019-03-17 12:31:12.


Author: bolderz